Skip to main content

Beyond FDLP.gov: Collections

This guide includes non-GPO resources useful to staff managing Federal depository operations and services.

Selected Online Resources: Collections

Documents Data Miner 2: A Library Management System for United States Government Documents (DDM2) (Wichita State University) A database with information about depository library item numbers as well as publications shipped and cataloged.  This site will be a new technical services best friend, providing you with options to filter by your depository library number in order to tailor results just for your library.

Cataloging Toolbox for U.S. Federal Government Information (ALA GODORT Cataloging Committee) This extensive guide includes links and descriptions of technical services resources from multiple sources, including GPO and several government information librarians.

SuDoc Tutorial (University of Minnesota Libraries) A video tutorial describing the classification system.

The Superintendent of Documents Classification System: An Explanation of the SuDoc Numbers (Angelo State University Library) A breakdown of the elements of the Superintendent of Documents classification number.

Government Resources: Government Periodicals (University of Louisville William F. Ekstrom Library) An extensive, alphabetical list of Federal periodicals.

U.S. Government Information: Weekly Roundup (University of California, San Diego Geisel Library) "Provides current awareness of federal government reports and activities. The resources is updated weekly to provide links to important, newsworthy, or interesting material published during the previous week."

ASERL Collaborative Federal Depository Program (Association of Southeastern Research Libraries) An ASERL program supporting collaborative collection management and services for Federal government publications within member institutions. The program includes Centers of Excellence, depositories which have committed to developing and providing service for a specific Federal agency, format, or subject area.

Hathi Trust Digital Library: U.S. Federal Documents Collection (Hathi Trust)  A collection of full-text Federal publications in HathiTrust, as identified in the HathiTrust Federal Government Documents Registry. The collection currently includes well over a million digitized publications and is updated regularly.

TRAIL: Technical Report Archive and Image Library (TRAIL) A collection of full-text digitized or harvested government technical reports, issued primarily prior to 1976.

FDLP LibGuides

Resource Example: SuDoc Tutorial (UMN Libraries)

Slide from University of Minnesota Libraries SuDoc Tutorial video

FDLP Official Logo Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP)
732 North Capitol Street, NW • Washington, DC 20401