Skip to Main Content
FDLP Resource Guides
Beginning summer 2023, we are updating our guides. You may notice changes to the look and feel of our existing guides. If you have any questions or experience any issues, please contact askGPO.

Elections and Voting Rights

Overview

Several U.S. Government agencies have information on elections and voting rights for kids and educators.

For Kids: Activities about Election and Voting Rights

The U.S. Government has online content to teach about elections and voting rights for K-12 children. Here are three examples from the National Museum of American History, Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services, and U.S. Government Publishing Office.

Screenshot of U.S. Government Publishing Office's "Ben's Guide to the U.S. Government"

Ben's Guide to the U.S. Government

U.S. Government Publishing Office 

  • This online resource has several topics concerning the U.S. Government, including the elections process. Select the appropriate grade-level to learn more about this topic.
  • Grade Level(s): pre-K to 12.
Screenshot of Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representative's "Kids in the House"

Kids in the House

Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives 

  • "Our mission is to provide educational and entertaining information about the legislative branch of the United States Government to students of all ages. Topics covered include the role of the U.S. House of Representatives, the legislative process, and House history."
  • Grade Level(s): pre-K to 12. 
Screenshot of National Museum of American History and the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration's "Preparing for the Oath"

Preparing for the Oath

National Museum of American History and U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services 

  • This online resource is a self-study guide on civics to prepare for the U.S. Naturalization Test.
  • Grade Level(s): 4 to 12.

For Teachers: Lesson Plans on Elections and Voting Rights

Click on the tabs of this box to see examples of lesson plans on election and voting rights from different U.S. Government agencies. The featured examples come from the Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, and National Park Service.

Screenshot of Library of Congress' "The Bill of Rights: Debating the Amendments" Teacher's Guide Screenshot of National Archives and Records Administration's "Mrs. Bloomer's Political Disability" Teacher's Guide Screenshot of National Park Service's "The Selma to Montgomery Voting Rights March: Shaking the Conscience of the Nation" Teacher's Guide Screenshot of National Endowment for the Humanities' "Like Father, Like Son: Presidential Families" Teacher's Guide Screenshot of National Archives and Records Administration's "How Can People Make A Difference" Teacher's Guide
Screenshot of National Endowment for the Humanities' "1828 Campaign of Andrew Jackson: Expansion of the Voting Base" Teacher's Guide Screenshot of Library of Congress' "The U.S. Constitution: Continuity and Change in the Governing of the United States" Teacher's Guide Screenshot of National Archives & Records Administration's "Lowering the Voting Age: Nixon and the 26th Amendment" Teacher's Guide Screenshot of National Endowment for the Humanities' "The Preamble to the Constitution: A Close Reading Lesson" Teacher's Guide Screenshot of Library of Congress' "Suffrage Strategies: Voices for Votes" Teacher's Guide
Grade School (K to 5)
Screenshot of National Archives and Records Administration's "How Can People Make A Difference" Teacher's Guide

How Can People Make a Difference?

National Archives and Records Administration 

  • The 45-minute lesson looks at the varied ways people can participate in civic engagement.
  • Grade Level(s): 3 to 5
Screenshot of National Endowment for the Humanities' "Like Father, Like Son: Presidential Families" Teacher's Guide

Like Father, Like Son: Presidential Families

National Endowment for the Humanities 

  • This lesson plan has four activities that look at the presidencies of John Adams, John Quincy Adams, George H.W. Bush, and George W. Bush.
  • Grade Level(s): K to 5
Screenshot of Library of Congress' "Suffrage Strategies: Voices for Votes" Teacher's Guide

Suffrage Strategies: Voices for Votes

Library of Congress 

  • The four-lesson plan has a variety of activities that uses primary sources that focus on strategies to achieve women's suffrage.
  • Grade Level(s): 3 to 5
Middle School (6 to 8)
Screenshot of National Archives and Records Administration's "Mrs. Bloomer's Political Disability" Teacher's Guide

Mrs. Bloomer's "Political Disability"

National Archives and Records Administration 

  • The 20-minute lesson employs critical-thinking skills by examining Amelia Bloomer's letter to the U.S. Congress.
  • Grade Level(s): 6 to 8
Screenshot of National Endowment for the Humanities' "The Preamble to the Constitution: A Close Reading Lesson" Teacher's Guide

The Preamble to the Constitution: A Close Reading Lesson

National Endowment for the Humanities 

  • For this three-activity lesson plan, students learn about the Preamble of the U.S. Constitution.
  • Grade Level(s): 6 to 8
Screenshot of National Park Service's "The Selma to Montgomery Voting Rights March: Shaking the Conscience of the Nation" Teacher's Guide

The Selma to Montgomery Voting Rights March: Shaking the Conscience of the Nation

National Park Service 

  • This 90-minute lesson plan looks at the history between the ratification of the 15th Amendment and the Civil Rights Movement of the 1960s.
  • Grade Level(s): 6 to 8
Screenshot of Library of Congress' "The U.S. Constitution: Continuity and Change in the Governing of the United States" Teacher's Guide

The U.S. Constitution: Continuity and Change in the Governing of the United States

Library of Congress 

  • This four-part lesson looks at the Continental Congress, the Constitution, and the Bill of Rights.
  • Grade Level(s): 6 to 8
High School (9 to 12)
Screenshot of National Endowment for the Humanities' "1828 Campaign of Andrew Jackson: Expansion of the Voting Base" Teacher's Guide

1828 Campaign of Andrew Jackson: Expansion of the Voting Base

National Endowment for the Humanities 

  • Part of a four-lesson plan, this activity examines the changing voting franchise during the early 19th century.
  • Grade Level(s): 9 to 12
Screenshot of Library of Congress' "The Bill of Rights: Debating the Amendments" Teacher's Guide

The Bill of Rights: Debating the Amendments

Library of Congress 

  • Students learn about the history and process in which the Bill of Rights ratified. This activity lasts between one and two classes.
  • Grade Level(s): 9 to 12
Screenshot of National Archives & Records Administration's "Lowering the Voting Age: Nixon and the 26th Amendment" Teacher's Guide

Lowering the Voting Age: Nixon and the 26th Amendment

National Archives and Records Administration 

  • This 30-minute activity focuses on the 26th Amendment.
  • Grade Level(s): 9 to 12

Free Flyer: "3 Branches of Government" (Source: kids.gov)

Screenshot of "3 Branches of Government" Flyer

Free Poster: "How To Become President Of The United States" (Source: usa.gov)

Screenshot of "How to Become President of the United States" Poster

Learn more about the FDLP Official Logo Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP)
For questions or comments, contact the FDLP Resource Guides Team at @askGPO