GovInfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
Search U.S. Government Publishing Office’s Catalog of U.S. Government Publications for catalog records. Many records link to the full text.
All FDLP Resource Guides are open educational resources for anyone to share, copy, and reuse.
Metadata and Collection Services is engaged in numerous initiatives. We provide brief descriptions of several major undertakings and will occasionally update the descriptions and include new projects. For information about the various opportunities to collaborate with GPO, please visit the Partnerships page on FDLP.gov.
Description: In September 2018, the Library of Congress began releasing Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports to the public at crsreports.congress.gov. The GPO catalogs individual reports in the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP). The PURLS in the GPO records link directly to the CRS site. As these reports are updated frequently, the GPO has cataloged each report as an integrating resource.
Timeframe: 2018- | Scope: approximately 10,000 publications | Status: January 2024, 10,190 records | CGP Search: wlts=CRSREP
News Alerts:
FDLP Academy:
Description: GPO catalogs content in the Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research (FRASER) service that is in scope of the FDLP.
Timeframe: 2013- | Status: January 2024, 2,115 records | CGP Search: wcat=FRASER
In 2017, LSCM launched the CGP on GitHub repository to post monthly files of new and changed CGP records for downloading free of charge. GitHub is a web-based computer source code sharing and publishing service. A GitHub account is not required for downloading the records. MCS manages and develops five repositories and fourteen collections, which are based on various criteria, such as issuing agencies, publication formats, and topical and chronological coverage. In the repositories, MCS offers several types of resources, including MARC records, record display pages, and PDFs with links to online versions of publications. For more information, please visit the Sources of GPO Cataloging Records page on FDLP.gov.
Timeframe: 2017- | Status: June 2023, 6 repositories, 17 collections, 2.5 million records (includes copies of the same records in different formats)
Repositories:
News Alerts:
Description: The GPO began a new contract in October of 2021 to catalog the approximately 66,000 to 88,000 remaining cards into MARC 21 records.
Timeframe: 2021- | CGP search page: Historic Shelflist catalog | FDLP.gov project page: GPO Historic Shelflist
Description: From April 2020 to December 2023, the Law Library of Congress and LTS collaborated on a multi-year project to catalog thousands of digitized and born-digital historical legal reports. The Law Library digitized the reports, and LTS cataloged the reports in OCLC and the CGP.
Timeframe: 2019-2023 | Scope: 5,000 publications | Status: Completed, 3,927 records | CGP Search: wlts=LCLAWLIB
Law Library of Congress collection: Legal Reports (Publications of the Law Library of Congress)
News Alerts:
Webinar: Digital Collections at the Law Library of Congress: Past, Present, and Future
Description: In 2019, the University of Minnesota (UMN) Libraries and LTS started to work together to catalog publications of several ceased U.S. Federal Government agencies: Office of Education, Department of the Interior (SuDoc class I 16), Department of the Navy (SuDoc class N), War Department (SuDoc class W). The UMN Libraries staff scanned the title pages of the publications and provided metadata elements and distribution information to LTS, and LTS staff members created new records or adapted existing records in OCLC and the CGP. In June 2023, the UMN Libraries and LTS completed the project.
Timeframe: 2019-2023 | Scope: 1,000 publications | Status: Completed, 922 records | CGP Search: wlts=MINN?
News Alerts:
Description: The Law Library of Congress and GPO are partnering on a decade-long effort to digitize and make accessible volumes of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set back to the first volume, which was published in 1817. The project encompasses more than 15,000 volumes and 9.4 million pages of House and Senate documents and reports of various types and executive department publications, such as annual reports.
Timeframe: 2019- | Scope: 350,000 publications | Status: March 2024, 30,224 records | CGP Search: wlts=SERIALSET?
FDLP.gov Project Page: Digitizing the United States Congressional Serial Set
GovInfo Collection: Congressional Serial Set
News Alerts:
Webinar: U.S. Congressional Set Collection Debuting on GovInfo
Learn more about the
Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP)
For questions or comments, contact the FDLP Resource Guides Team at @askGPO