LSCM Metadata and Collection Services Information Portal

MCS has compiled this list of resources as a general starting point for those who are seeking to learn some basic information about cataloging/metadata work and those who are seeking to refresh their skills and knowledge. The list contains the major standards and guidelines that MCS staff members use in the course of creating and updating bibliographic and authority records for Federal Depository Library Program and Cataloging and Indexing materials. The list also includes cataloging/metadata training resources.

Please note: The list is not intended to be authoritative or comprehensive. This guide is not intended as a cataloging/metadata course or as an opportunity to establish cataloging/metadata competencies for individuals.

We will periodically review and update these resources and add new ones. We ask that you please report any issues with the links to us and submit your questions and suggestions via askGPO in the “Cataloging/Metadata (Policy and Records)” category.

• Administrative News. Technical Supplement, 1994-2008 (GovInfo)
• Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP)
• FDLP Academy, GPO Cataloging and Classification Webinars, GitHub Webcasts, etc.
• FDLP Data Manager (FDM)
  • Used for reviewing shipping lists, List of Classes information, and downloading MARC records.
• GPO Cataloging Guidelines
• List of Classes
  • Used for determining Class and Item number assignments.
• Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications- GovInfo
• Superintendent of Documents Classification Guidelines
• U.S. Government Manual (GovInfo)
  • Used for assignment of place when “place” is not on a publication. Can also be used for finding agency hierarchical information.
• WEBTech Notes

• Andriot- Guide to U.S. Government Publications on HathiTrust
• GODORT Libguides
• Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications- HathiTrust
  • Issues for 1895 to 1970. Includes cumulative indexes covering 1941-1965. Searchable and browseable. Issues for 1920 to 1976-Limited to search.
• Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications- University of Illinois (Internet Archive)
  • Covers approximately 1895-1970. Missing volumes 6 (1900); 8 (1902).

• ALCTS Webinar Archive
• Alphabetic List of Ambiguous Entities
  • For determining NACO or SACO work.
• BIBFRAME Editor
• Cataloger's Reference Shelf
• CONSER Home Page
• CONSER Publication Pattern Initiative
• Continuing Education for Cataloging Federal Government Information (GODORT)
• Creating Subject Headings for Indigenous Topics : a Culturally Respectful Guide
• Descriptive Cataloging Manual (Z1: Name and Series Authority Records)
• GNIS-Authority Work for Geographic Headings
• ISBN Converter
• Law Librarians’ Society of Washington, DC, Legislative Source Book
• Library of Congress, Bibliographic Framework Initiative (BIBFRAME)
• Library of Congress, Resource Description and Access (RDA)
• Library of Congress Catalog
• Library of Congress Training Materials
• MARC 21 Format for Authority Data
• MARC 21 Format for Bibliographic Data
• MARC: Understanding MARC Authority Records: Machine-Readable Cataloging
• MARC: Understanding MARC Bibliographic Records
• MARC Code Lists
• MARC Standards
• Name Authority Cooperative Program of the Program for Cooperative Cataloging (NACO)
• OCLC Cataloging Documentation
• OCLC Form for Duplicate Record Deletion/Merger Request
• OCLC Librarians’ Toolbox
• OCLC System Alerts
• Program for Cooperative Cataloging Provider-Neutral Guidelines
• RDA Steering Committee (RSC)
• Serials Cataloging Cooperative Training Program (SCCTP)
• Serials Standards Bibliography (Serials Cataloging)
• WebJunction Webinars
  • Required to create a free user ID to login.

• Cataloger’s Desktop
• Classification Web
• Official RDA Toolkit (New version)
• RDA Toolkit (Old version)