Skip to Main Content
FDLP Resource Guides
Beginning summer 2023, we are updating our guides. You may notice changes to the look and feel of our existing guides. If you have any questions or experience any issues, please contact askGPO.

Then and Now Experiences of Asians and Asian Americans

Overview

Asians and Asian Americans face many issues that impact their livelihood and civil rights in today's society. Learn about some of these issues and U.S. Government resources that provide additional resources, which may concern related topics on a given issue.

Educational Barriers

Although Asian Americans have the highest percentages of earning bachelor's, master's, professional, and doctorate degrees when compared with other race populations according to the U.S. Census Bureau's Educational Attainment in the United States (2022), they still face some educational barriers, including language in which "30.9 percent of Asian Americans are not fluent in English."^ 

Click on the "Information" tab in this box to learn about topics related to education.

^Office of Minority Health (U.S. Department of Health and Human Services)

Screenshot of "Education Task Force"

Congressional Asian Pacific American Caucus (CAPAC)

Education Task Force

  • See the latest information from this Congressional task force.
Screenshot of "Fast Facts: Dropout Rates"

National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)

Employment Discrimination

Although there are high rates of employment and above-average wages for Asian Americans, they still face employment barriers, including unequal pay and racial discrimination. For example, the U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) has a virtual newsroom that includes its recent lawsuits and reports. Between 2003 and 2014, the EEOC filed 20 lawsuits involving Asian American communities, of which the "alleged discrimination included trafficking, harassment, and derogatory comments."^ The EEOC is also exploring how the COVID-19 pandemic impacted racial harassment and violence against Asian Americans.^^

Click on the "Information" tab in this box to learn about information on employment discrimination.

^EEOC ^^EEOC

Screenshot of "Economic Development & Workforce Task Force"

Congressional Asian Pacific American Caucus (CAPAC)

Economic Development & Workforce Task Force

  • See the latest news from the Congressional task force.
Screenshot of "Asian American, Native Hawaiian, & Pacific Islander"

Office of Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion of the National Institutes of Health (NIH)

Asian American, Native Hawaiian, & Pacific Islander

  • Primarily for NIH employees, find information related to heritage, laws, regulations, and additional resources.
Screenshot of "A Practical Guide to Common Issues and Possible Barriers Which Asian and Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander Employees May Face in the Federal Work Force"

U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission

Screenshot of "National Strategy on Advancing Equity, Justice, and Opportunity for Asian American, Native Hawaiian, and Pacific Islander Communities"

The White House

National Strategy on Advancing Equity, Justice, and Opportunity for Asian American, Native Hawaiian, and Pacific Islander Communities

  • Read the January 2023 report from the White House Initiative on Asian Americans, Native Hawaiians, and Pacific Islanders.

Hate Crimes

According to the Federal Bureau of Investigation's Crime Data Explorer, there are 3,057 reported Anti-Asian hate crimes between 2012 and 2022. The top four types of offense were intimidation (977); simple assault (907); destruction, damage, or vandalism of property (492); and aggravated assault (389). 

Click on the "Information" tab in this box to learn about information on hate crimes.

Screenshot of "Discrimination Against Asian and Pacific Islander Americans: A Research Guide"

Library of Congress

Discrimination Against Asian and Pacific Islander Americans: A Research Guide

  • Research primary sources on historical discrimination.
Screenshot of "Battling Structural Racism Against Asians in the United States: Call for Public Health to Make the ‘Invisible’ Visible"

National Library of Medicine (NLM)

Screenshot of "The Federal Response to Anti-Asian Racism in the United States"

U.S. Commission on Civil Rights

The Federal Response to Anti-Asian Racism in the United States

  • See the Commission's report on hate incidents and crimes against Asian communities, and the Federal efforts and policies for reporting and preventing future hate crimes.
Screenshot of "Combating Hate and Discrimination: Resource Guide"

U.S. Department of Health & Human Services

Combating Hate and Discrimination: Resource Guide

  • Learn about different Federal resources addressing hate discrimination and racial equity.
Screenshot of "Addressing Hate Crimes Against Asian Americans, Native Hawaiians, and Pacific Islanders"

U.S. Department of Justice (DOJ)

Screenshot of "Executive Order on Advancing Equity, Justice, and Opportunity for Asian Americans, Native Hawaiians, and Pacific Islanders"

The White House

Executive Order on Advancing Equity, Justice, and Opportunity for Asian Americans, Native Hawaiians, and Pacific Islanders

  • Read about the how the "the entire Federal Government must advance equity and racial justice for underserved communities, which include AA and NHPI communities."

Health

The negative factors regarding health for Asian Americans are “infrequent medical visits, language and cultural barriers, and lack of health insurance,” according to the U.S. Census Bureau. In addition, they are “most at risk for the following health conditions: cancer, heart disease, stroke, unintentional injuries (accidents), and diabetes” and “have a high prevalence of the following conditions and risk factors: chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, hepatitis B, HIV/AIDS, smoking, tuberculosis, and liver disease."^

Click on the tabs of this box to learn more about health resources.

^Office of Minority Health (U.S. Department of Health and Human Services)

Screenshot of "Health of Asian non-Hispanic Population"

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Health of Asian Non-Hispanic Population

  • See health-related data, including live births, smoking, obesity, hypertension, health insurance coverage, leading causes of death, and more.
Screenshot of "Healthcare Task Force"

Congressional Asian Pacific American Caucus (CAPAC)

Healthcare Task Force

  • Read the latest information and news from this Congressional task force.
Screenshot of "Prevalence of cardiovascular disease among Asian, Pacific Islander and multi-race populations in Hawai’i and California"

National Library of Medicine (NLM)

Screenshot of "Mental and Behavioral Health - Asian Americans" website

Office of Minority Health

Mental and Behavioral Health - Asian Americans

  • See statistical data regarding mental and behavioral heath, including suicide rates.
Screenshot of "Asian American, Native Hawaiian, and Pacific Islander (AA and NHPI) " website

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)

U.S. Department of Health & Human Services

Screenshot of "Fact Sheet: Biden-⁠Harris Administration Takes Action to Promote Access to Behavioral Health Care for Asian American, Native Hawaiian, and Pacific Islander Communities" website

The White House

Fact Sheet: Biden-⁠Harris Administration Takes Action to Promote Access to Behavioral Health Care for Asian American, Native Hawaiian, and Pacific Islander Communities

  • Read this fact sheet that discusses "improving equity and access to behavioral health."

Immigration

About "31.3% of the roughly 44 million foreign-born people in the United States were born in Asia," according to the U.S. Census Bureau's most recent American Community Survey.

Click on the tabs of this box to learn about resources related to immigration services and programs.

Screenshot of "Immigration and Refugee Assistance" website

Benefits.gov

Immigration and Refugee Assistance

  • Explore different U.S. Government programs and services for immigrants and refugees.
Screenshot of "Immigration" website

Social Security Administration

Immigration

  • Find information on applying for a social security card.
Screenshot of "Undocumented Students and Financial Aid"

Federal Student Aid

Undocumented Students and Financial Aid

  • Apply for different types of financial aid for eligible students.
Screenshot of "Office of Migrant Education" website

Office of Migrant Education

U.S. Department of Education

Screenshot of "Educational Resources for Immigrants, Refugees, Asylees and other New Americans" website

U.S. Department of Education

Educational Resources for Immigrants, Refugees, Asylees and other New Americans

  • Read information for asylee, immigrant and refuge students and their families.
Screenshot of "Foreign Labor Certification" website

U.S. Department of Labor (DOL)

Find the latest information on different work programs.

Screenshot of "Non-Citizen Communities" website

U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA)

Non-Citizen Communities

  • See information on USDA programs that support eligible non-citizens, including Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP); and Women, Infants, and Children (WIC).
Screenshot of "Health Coverage for Immigrants" website

HealthCare.gov

Health Coverage for Immigrants

  • Apply for health coverage through the Marketplace.
Screenshot of "Office of Refuge Resettlement" website

Office of Refuge Resettlement

Administration for Children & Families

  • Learn about this office's services for eligible refugees, asylees, Cuban/Haitian entrants, Special Immigrant Visa (SIV) holders, Amerasians, and Victims of Trafficking. 
Screenshot of "Immigrant and Refuge Health Centers for Disease Control and Prevention" website

U.S. Department of Health & Human Services

Immigrant and Refuge Health Centers for Disease Control and Prevention 

Screenshot of "Immigrant Records at the National Archives" website

National Archives and Records Administration

Immigrant Records at the National Archives

  • Research historical records, including immigration, visa, passport, and naturalization records.
Screenshot of "U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS)" website

U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS)

U.S. Department of Homeland Security

Screenshot of "U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE)" website

U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE)

U.S. Department of Homeland Security

Screenshot of "Executive Office for Immigration Review" website

Executive Office for Immigration Review

U.S. Department of Justice

Screenshot of "Bureau of Population, Refuges, and Migration" website

Bureau of Population, Refuges, and Migration

U.S. Department of State

Screenshot of "U.S. Visas" website

U.S. Department of State

U.S. Visas

Screenshot of "Libraries Helping Refugees and New Immigrants Learn the U.S. Financial System"

FDLP Academy (U.S. Government Publishing Office)

Libraries Helping Refugees and New Immigrants Learn the U.S. Financial System

  • Recorded on July 13, 2023
  • Length of Time: 62 minutes
  • Speakers: Emily Mross (Pennsylvania State University); Ken McDonnell (Consumer Financial Protection Bureau); Julie Robinson (Kansas City Public Library); and Young Park (Chicago Public Library)