GovInfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
Search U.S. Government Publishing Office’s Catalog of U.S. Government Publications for catalog records. Many records link to the full text.
All FDLP Resource Guides are open educational resources for anyone to share, copy, and reuse.
Want to link or share this guide? Use this permalink:
https://libguides.fdlp.gov/c.php?g=1179719
This guide provides some resources to help familiarize student workers with the Federal Depository Library Program and Federal Government information.
| Resource | Summary |
|---|---|
| FDLP.gov | Official website for Federal Depository Library Program. |
| FDLP Depository Operation Training Series | Webcasts for depository coordinators on how to manage their FDL collections. |
| Information for New Depository Coordinators | FDLP Resource Guide on questions for new depository coordinators. |
| List of Classes | Official listing of publications available for selection by Federal depository libraries. |
| Quick Start Guide | Information to get started with your library's FDLP operations. |
| Shipping Lists | Shipping lists are a list of publications that are mailed to libraries in their depository distribution boxes. |
|
|
Search, browse, and view updates to Superintendent of Documents classification numbers and to List of Classes information. |
Click on the tabs of this box to learn about the featured GPO resources that are helpful for FDLP operations at your library.
While freely available for the general public, the FDLP Academy offers webinars and webcasts for Federal depository libraries. Its mission is to "create and deliver enhanced educational opportunities to the FDLP community by fostering collaboration, by facilitating knowledge sharing, and through the application of new methods and use of multiple mediums" about Federal Government resources.
As examples, here are some webinars from 2023:
FDLP Resource Guides provide information about the Federal Government and the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP). There are two types of guides: Subject and FDLP Information. “Subject Guides” explore a variety of topics that concern the Federal Government for the general public. “FDLP Information Guides” contain resources and guidance for Federal Depository Libraries about operations and services.
Here are some guides to explore:
The Legal Requirements & Program Regulations of the Federal Depository Library Program (LRPR) provides member libraries with a single, concise resource to consult for the current legal and Program obligations of libraries in the Federal Depository Library Program.
GovInfo has featured collections on types of Federal Government documents and topics. Visit the Tutorials and Handouts on how to use and search in GovInfo.
The Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP) is free online resource of bibliographic records for U.S. Government publications. To learn more about how to use this catalog, check out CGP Search Tips/Help.
Check out MetaLib as a Federal search engine tool. It searches through multiple Federal government articles, citations, databases, and reports.
Some Federal depository libraries provide training resources for library staff. Below are some examples:
Visiting a community guide will direct you to other websites, which may have different privacy policies than the U.S. Government Publishing Office. Also, community guides may feature resources that are not U.S. Government publications or sources, which may not be freely available. Contact the community guide's owner for additional information or assistance.
Learn more about the
Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP)
For questions or comments, contact the FDLP Resource Guides Team at @askGPO