FDLP Resource Guides: Genealogy: Ancestry

Overview

Ancestry "refers to a person’s ethnic origin," heritage, or the person's or their ancestors' place of birth (U.S. Census Bureau).

Check out some U.S. Government resources on genealogical research concerning ancestry.

	African American Heritage National Archives and Records Administration See historic records, public programs, and online exhibits.
	American Indian and Alaska Native Records in the National Archives National Archives and Records Administration Browse information from 1774 to the mid-1990s.
	Ancestry U.S. Census Bureau Explore data, tables and working papers
	Chinese Heritage National Archives and Records Administration Read descriptive pamphlets and historic case files.
	East Central European Genealogy and Local History: Sources for Research Library of Congress Learn about different databases and resources on specific regions.
	Genealogy Library of Congress Check out these guides on a range of topics, including local histories.
	Genealogy: Ethnic Heritage Links National Archives and Records Administration View the list of websites that focus on ethnic genealogical research.
	Hispanic / Latino Heritage National Archives and Records Administration Explore various topics, including family histories.
	Japanese-Americans National Archives and Records Administration Learn about World War II relocation and internment records.
	Tracing American Indian and Alaska Native (AI/AN) Ancestry Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA) Find out how to establish AI/AN ancestry through the different offices and programs of the BIA.
	USCIS Genealogy Program U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services This fee-based service provides immigration records.