GovInfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
Search U.S. Government Publishing Office’s Catalog of U.S. Government Publications for catalog records. Many records link to the full text.
All FDLP Resource Guides are open educational resources for anyone to share, copy, and reuse.
Want to link or share this guide? Use this permalink:
https://libguides.fdlp.gov/c.php?g=1331663
Copy and customize this template guide for your own Federal Depository Library (FDL). The guide includes
We recommend copying either the whole guide or specific boxes, and customizing the content for your library. Any content below that is bolded and italicized should be changed or deleted, based on your library's information.
And check out this 21-minute FDLP Academy webinar that talks about how to use this guide, starting at the 10:56-minute mark.
Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP)
FDLP's mission is to "provide free, ready, and permanent public access to Federal Government information, now and for future generations."
[Our library] was designated as a Federal depository library in [YYYY.] We are one of [##] selective libraries for the state of [your state].
The U.S. Congress first authorized the distribution of Government documents to universities, historical societies, and state libraries in 1813. The U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO) has overseen the FDLP since 1895. Currently, over 1,100 libraries across the nation are members of the FDLP. For more information about the FDLP, visit FDLP.gov.
Our library provides reference services about Federal Government information. Below is how to contact our staff for questions. [Insert contact information, including times of availability. An example is featured below.]
| Information Desk | Main Library on Third Floor |
| Monday through Friday | Scheduled appointments are encouraged |
| 9am to 4pm PST | |
| [email protected] | |
| Monday through Saturday | Within 48 hours on business days for a response |
| 9am to 8pm PST | |
| Phone | 555-555-5555 |
| Monday through Friday | Within 48 hours on business days for a response |
| 9am to 4pm PST |
Our library's Government collection includes the following topics of interest. [Insert a short list highlighting topics or types of publications that will interest your patrons. An example is featured below.]
| Animal Health | Indian Reservations | Veterinary Medicine |
| Financial Information | Law (Environmental and Family) | Water Management (Snake River) |
| General Business | U.S. Congress Publications | Wildlife Disease |
If you have a question that is not addressed by our areas of expertise, you can reach out to other Federal depository libraries across the nation or the Government Information Online, which is a partnership between GPO and the Government Documents Round Table (GODORT) of the American Library Association.
In addition to this webpage, here are some resources about Government information that our library provides. [Insert links and a brief overview of what patrons will discover. Below is a featured example.]
| Research Guides | Learn more about different Government-related topics, like Federal and state elections. |
| Databases | Explore these databases that specialize in the law and various legal topics. |
| Online Exhibits | Read about topics, like the history of U.S. Vice Presidents |
| Special Events | Find out more about Constitution Day and other special events happening at our library. |
| Catalog | Discover Federal Government publications |
| Resource | Description |
|---|---|
| Assistance Listings | Provides detailed, public descriptions of Federal assistance listings available to State and local governments (including the District of Columbia); Federally recognized Indian tribal governments, Territories (and possessions) of the United States; domestic public, quasi- public, and private profit and nonprofit organizations and institutions; specialized groups, and individuals. |
| Ben's Guide to the U.S. Government | Presents educational content for the public on the workings of the U.S. Government and U.S. history, with a focus on civics. |
| Budget of the United States Government | Contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications issued throughout the fiscal year. |
| Catalog of U.S. Government Publications | A finding tool for publications from all three branches of the U.S. government. Updated daily, it contains descriptive records for current and historical publications and provides direct links to those online. |
| Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) | The annual edition of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by departments and agencies of the U.S. Government. |
|
The official publications of materials released by the White House Press Secretary. |
|
|
Provides information about legislative activities, publications, and other related materials for members of Congress and the public. |
|
|
The official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress, published daily when Congress is in session. (Note: This is the daily edition. There is also a bound edition.) |
|
| The Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and Interpretation | Also known as the Constitution Annotated, includes the U.S. Constitution and analysis and interpretation, with in-text annotations of cases decided by the Supreme Court of the United States. |
| Economic Indicators | Published monthly by the Council of Economic Advisors for the Joint Economic Committee, provides economic information on GDP, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics. |
| The Economic Report of the President to the Congress | An annual report, issued by the Executive Office of the President and the Council of Economic Advisors, providing on overview of economic progress, with extensive data appendices. |
| Explore Census Data (also known as data.census.gov) | A source for population, economic, housing, and geographic information and data about the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Island areas. |
| Federal Register | The daily publication of the rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, along with executive orders. |
| GovInfo | A database providing authenticated access to official publications from all three branches of the U.S. Government. |
| Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH) | A resource for occupational and career information, providing profiles on a majority of jobs in the United States. Profiles describe the work environment, education and training needed, a ten year outlook, and median pay for workers. |
| Official Congressional Directory | Includes biographical and directory information about members of the House and Senate, committee memberships, terms of service, and related content. |
| Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States | Official publication of the President's addresses, writings, and remarks. |
| Social Security Handbook | Resource for the most common questions about Social Security. |
| United States Code | The codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States, divided by broad subjects into 53 titles. |
| The United States Government Manual | The official handbook of the U.S. Government, providing information on the agencies from all three branches, quasi-official agencies, international organizations in which the United States participates, boards, commissions, and committees. |
| United States Reports | Contains the final version of the opinions of the Supreme Court of the United States. |
| United States Statutes at Large | Contains the permanent laws enacted during each session of Congress. |
| USA.gov | A subject-based portal to Federal services and resources online. Available also in Español. |
Learn more about the
Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP)
For questions or comments, contact the FDLP Resource Guides Team at @askGPO