GovInfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
Search U.S. Government Publishing Office’s Catalog of U.S. Government Publications for catalog records. Many records link to the full text.
All FDLP Resource Guides are open educational resources for anyone to share, copy, and reuse.
Want to link or share this guide? Use this permalink:
https://libguides.fdlp.gov/c.php?g=693021
The Federal Government maintains galleries, libraries, archives, and museums (GLAM) for the public to experience. This guide highlights some of the nation's GLAM.
Photographs of pandas at the National Zoo, the Smithsonian Castle with Washington Monument in the background in 1981, and First Lady Michelle Obama and Mrs. Lee Hsien Loong, First Lady of Singapore, tour the National Gallery of Art with Earl A. "Rusty" Powell III, Director of the National Gallery of Art in 2016 (Image sources: NAID: 222096511, NAID: 6346106, and NAID: 167966429)
Located in Washington DC, the National Gallery of Art has "over 150,000 paintings, sculpture, decorative arts, photographs, prints, and drawings." Its mission "serves the nation by welcoming all people to explore and experience art, creativity, and our shared humanity."
Although many Federal agencies have their own libraries, the U.S. Congress has designated five at the national level. Check out more information on each them below.
| National Libraries | Additional Information |
|---|---|
| Library of Congress (LC) | Began in 1800 after an act of the U.S. Congress that over the two centuries has expanded to over 162 million items that "engage, inspire, and inform Congress and the American people with a universal and enduring source of knowledge and creativity" (LC) |
| National Agricultural Library (NAL) | Designated in 1962; U.S. Congress funded in 1964 (Public Law 94–122): "facilitates the creation of agricultural knowledge through the acquisition, curation, and dissemination of the information needed to solve agricultural challenges today and in the future (NAL) |
| National Library of Education (NLE) | Designated in 1994: "The mission of the Library shall be to— (1) become a principal center for the collection, preservation, and effective utilization of the research and other information related to education and to the improvement of educational achievement; (2) strive to ensure widespread access to the Library's facilities and materials, coverage of all education issues and subjects, and quality control; (3) have an expert library staff; and (4) use modem information technology that holds the potential to link major libraries, schools, and educational centers across the United States into a network of national education resources." (Public Law 103–227) |
| National Library of Medicine (NLM) |
Designated in 1956: "In order to assist the advancement of medical and related sciences and to aid the dissemination and exchange of scientific and other information important to the progress of medicine and to the public health, there is established the National Library of Medicine" (42 U.S. Code §286) |
|
Designated in 1998: "... a National Transportation Library, which shall contain a collection of statistical and other information needed for transportation decision making at the Federal, State, and local levels." (Public Law No. 105–178) |
The mission of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is "to provide equitable public access to federal government records in our custody and control." Whether to view the founding documents or conduct research, NARA has an extensive collection of historical records concerning America's past.
NARA also oversees the Presidential Libraries through the Office of Presidential Libraries. Below is table of these libraries to visit virtually or in person.
Although "there is no definition of a national museum, some national museums are authorized by Congress."^ These museums may operate entirely or partly by the Federal government.^^ For example, the U.S. Congress accepted James Smithson's gift to found Smithsonian Institute in 1846, which has since expanded to 21 museums and the National Zoo. Meanwhile, Federal agencies may have their own museums like the U.S. Department of the Interior Museum. There are varied types of national museums, including aquariums, science and technology centers, and more. The following are some examples of congressionally designated national museums.
| Featured National Museums | Locations |
|---|---|
| National Air Museum and Space Museum |
Chantilly VA Washington DC |
| National Aquarium | Baltimore MD |
| National Atomic Testing Museum | Las Vegas NV |
| National Law Enforcement Museum | Washington DC |
| National Museum of African American History and Culture |
Washington DC |
| National Museum of the American Indian |
New York NY Washington DC |
| Negro Leagues Baseball Museum | Kansas City MO |
| U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum | Washington DC |
^Congressional Research Service (2024) ^^Congressional Research Service (2015)
Learn more about the
Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP)
For questions or comments, contact the FDLP Resource Guides Team at @askGPO