Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Information for New Depository Coordinators: First Steps for Your FDL

This Guide is designed to answer any questions that a new depository coordinator may have.

First Steps

Identify the following:

Depository Library Number

Found in the Federal Depository Library Directory (FDL Directory) and on the inside flap of depository shipment boxes. The number includes leading zeroes and may contain a letter at the end, for example, 0463B. Each FDL number is unique. Even if you never receive a shipment because your library is not selecting any physical or tangible publications, it is important that you know your depository library number so GPO can accurately identify the correct library in communication.

The FDL Directory lists all FDLP libraries and their library type, size, designation status, and contact information. The depository coordinator can log in and edit portions of their library's FDL Directory entry at the askGPO website. 

Designation Date and Type of Designation

Both designation date and type of designation can be found in the FDL Directory. If the designation date field is blank, GPO does not have the original designation documentation.

Passwords

Passwords give you access to a variety of applications and services. Contact GPO if you are unsure of your passwords. More information about passwords can be found in the Passwords & Accounts tab or the Passwords and Accounts Used by Depository Libraries article.

Your Regional Depository Library

A list of regionals can be found in the FDL Directory. Regional depositories are responsible for developing and managing a comprehensive Federal depository collection and for providing reference and interlibrary loan services to selective depositories within the state or region. They also play a leadership role for all Federal depositories in the state or region and are very good contacts when you have questions about depository collections or depository management issues.

Update & Subscription

Update Directory Information & Subscribe to FDLP News

  • If you are the newly designated coordinator for your library, update your library’s entry in the FDL Directory. As the depository coordinator, you need to keep the directory entry up to date. Thus keeping GPO informed.
  • Sign up for the News & Events email service, the official FDLP communication channel, or follow its RSS feed.

FDLP Official Logo Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP)
732 North Capitol Street, NW • Washington, DC 20401