Skip to Main Content
FDLP Resource Guides
Beginning summer 2023, we are updating our guides. You may notice changes to the look and feel of our existing guides. If you have any questions or experience any issues, please contact askGPO.

FDLP Coordinator Calendar

Task of the Month

Checkup Time

How is the health of your depository website and your internal documentation? This is a good month to review and update them.

  • Visit the FDLP Resource Guide, FDLP Resources for FDL Websites, for information to copy, customize, or update about your library's FDL collection.
  • Do your public access policies clearly state how depository users can access the collection and any exceptions that are made for them?
  • How do you handle it if an unaccompanied minor wants to use the depository collection?
  • Do you have a collection development policy, and how is the depository collection treated in it?
  • Do you have a processing manual?
  • Do you have a disaster plan for the depository collection?
  • Is your library's entry in the Federal Depository Library Directory correct and does it link to your FDLP website and your library's catalog?

As always, if you have questions, need guidance, or want to talk over an issue, contact Federal Depository Support Services at askGPO.

FDLP Tip of the Month

  • Check out Beyond FDLP.gov, a FDLP Resource Guide with helpful reference books and websites specifically for depository coordinators.

Reference Resources of the Month

Government Book Talk Blog

  • Aims to "raise the profile of some of the best publications from the Federal Government, past and present." There's a searchable archive and an RSS feed or email subscription available.

National Library of Medicine Digital Collections

  • Archival material, books, and lots and lots of historical images

National Responsible Fatherhood Clearinghouse

  • Father's Day is the third Sunday in June. Check out this resource for parents.

Trivia / Social Media Suggestions

Date Event
June 2, 1924 U.S. Congress passed the Indian Citizenship Act.
June 11, 1991 Mount Pinatubo in the Philippines erupted. Learn more about volcanoes and see current activity at the USGS Volcano Hazards Program.
June 12, 1924 President George H.W. Bush was born.
June 29, 1956 The Federal Highway Act created the interstate system.

Executive Department of the Month

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS)
Main Website https://www.hhs.gov/
Mission "To enhance the health and well-being of all Americans, by providing for effective health and human services and by fostering sound, sustained advances in the sciences underlying medicine, public health, and social services."
Established 1953 (as Department of Health, Education, and Welfare) and became HHS in 1980
U.S. Secretary of Health and Human Services Xavier Becerra
Some HHS Resources

DNA snip

CRISPR Cas9 (Credit: Ernesto del Aguila III/NHGRI) (Image source: National Human Genome Research Institute Image Gallery).

Federal Holiday in June

^For Federal employees, "When a holiday falls on a nonworkday—Saturday or Sunday—the holiday usually is observed on Monday (if the holiday falls on Sunday) or Friday (if the holiday falls on Saturday)"

Learn more about the FDLP Official Logo Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP)
For questions or comments, contact the FDLP Resource Guides Team at @askGPO