Skip to Main Content
FDLP Resource Guides
Beginning summer 2023, we are updating our guides. You may notice changes to the look and feel of our existing guides. If you have any questions or experience any issues, please contact askGPO.

FDLP Coordinator Calendar

Task of the Month

What's your Cataloging Situation?

Depository libraries are required to have a "piece-level inventory" of their depository collection. Do you know about every piece of material in the collection—that you have it, what it is, and where it is? Scenarios might include:

  • Everything is fully cataloged in your OPAC. You have check-in records for all the serials, all the microfiche and maps/map indexes are in there, and  it's retrospective. Clap your hands, you're done!
  • Some or most is cataloged in the OPAC, but some isn't (very common situation). You have in-house inventories or a shelflist for some or all of the material that isn't in the catalog.
  • Some is in the OPAC, but a lot is not. There may or may not be any shelflist or other inventory of the collection.

Take some time to evaluate where all the bibliographic records are for your depository collection, and what your methods have been over time. If you have material that is completely uncataloged, start to plan for how you can get that material cataloged or inventoried in a database or spreadsheet.

For some more information, view the FDLP Academy Webinar on Cataloging & Indexing at GPO.

FDLP Tip of the Month

  • Remember to make sure you are signed up for FDLP News & Events Announcements. Coordinators have to be; for everyone else, it’s just interesting and useful!  

Reference Resource of the Month

Guide to U.S. Government Publications (Andriot)

  • Formerly called "Andriot" after the editor, John L. Andriot
  • Organizes content by SuDoc numbers
  • Provides an overview of when particular SuDocs were in use throughout history

Trivia / Social Media Suggestions

  • BlackHistoryMonth.gov is an interagency website that pays "tribute to the generations of African Americans who struggled with adversity to achieve full citizenship in American society."

Executive Departments of the Month

U.S. Department of State (State)
Main Website https://www.state.gov/
Mission "To protect and promote U.S. security, prosperity, and democratic values and shape an international environment in which all Americans can thrive."
Established 1789
U.S. Secretary of State Antony J. Blinken
Recommended State Resources

U.S. Department of the Interior (DOI)
For more information, see the FDLP Resource Guide, U.S. Department of the Interior, which provides an overview about the DOI.

Winter in Grand Teton National Park

Winter in Grand Teton National Park (Image source: NAID: 222096267)

Federal Holiday in February

Learn more about the FDLP Official Logo Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP)
For questions or comments, contact the FDLP Resource Guides Team at @askGPO