Skip to main content

Resources Helpful for Federal Depository Library Administration: Other Web Sources

This guide includes GPO and other resources useful to staff managing Federal depository operations and services.

Resources Available From Selected Other Web Sources

Federal depositories, other libraries, and library organizations have a wealth of resources available to you in support of Federal depository library management. Below are selected resources, some of which government information librarians use daily. Contact your regional depository coordinator, other librarians, and local library associations for more ideas, particularly for state or region focused resources.

Eight Things to Do When Assuming Responsibility for a Federal Depository Library (University of North Texas (UNT) Libraries) New at a Federal depository library?  (Hint: Check out both GPO's Information for New Depository Coordinators guide and UNT's guide.)

U.S. Federal Government Information Competencies for Beginning Government Information and General Reference Librarians (ALA GODORT Education Committee)  Although somewhat dated, this resource highlights essential, recommended, and useful competencies as well as Principles of Government Information and recommended library resources from government and other sources. It can help provide support for development of skills for new librarians or those taking on responsibility for government information.

GovDoc-L A national listserv-based discussion forum about government information and the FDLP.  Moderated by fellow government information librarians, GovDoc-L is a critical current awareness and news resource for depository librarians.

Government Information Online (GIO) (ALA GODORT) An online reference service supported by Federal depository librarians from several libraries throughout the U.S. Submit a question or search the FAQs.

Documents Data Miner 2: A Library Management System for United States Government Documents (Wichita State University) Wish to view and manage GPO publication selection and collection management resources and your Federal depository's item number selections in new and different ways?  This site will be a new technical services best friend, providing you with multiple ways to filter by your individual depository library number to tailor results just for your library.

Toolbox for Processing and Cataloging Federal Government Documents (ALA GODORT Cataloging Committee) This extensive guide will provide you with technical services resources from multiple sources, including GPO and several government information librarians.

Government Documents Display Clearinghouse (ALA GODORT Education Committee and Minnesota State University, Mankato) If you're looking for ideas for your own government documents display, get inspired by visiting this site. You can search or browse to see displays, which includes photos and bibliographies contributed by many librarians.

Hathi Trust Digital Library: U.S. Federal Documents Collection (Hathi Trust)  A collection of full-text Federal publications in HathiTrust, as identified in the HathiTrust Federal Government Documents Registry. The collection currently includes over a million digitized publications and is updated regularly.

TRAIL: Technical Report Archive and Image Library  A collection of more than 57,000 full-text digitized or harvested government technical reports.The collection is also updated regularly.

LibGuides content: FDLP LibGuides is relatively new, with new guides being added regularly.  If you don't find what you are looking for now in FDLP LibGuides, you may search the LibGuides Community Site, which aggregates all public content from institutions worldwide using LibGuides.

FDLP LibGuides

Ask GPO

FDLP Official Logo Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP)
732 North Capitol Street, NW • Washington, DC 20401