Skip to Main Content
FDLP Resource Guides
Beginning summer 2023, we are updating our guides. You may notice changes to the look and feel of our existing guides. If you have any questions or experience any issues, please contact askGPO.

U.S. Presidency


This guide provides historic and current information about the U.S. Presidency.

A collage of Presidential portraits

Presidential Portraits (Source: Library of Congress)

Article II of the Constitution

This part of the document concerns the Executive Branch of the U.S. Government. It has four sections:

  • Section 1. Function and Selection
  • Section 2. Powers
  • Section 3. Duties
  • Section 4. Impeachment

For more information:

Presidents of the United States

 George Washington (1789–1797) John Adams (1797–1801) Thomas Jefferson (1801–1809)
 James Madison (1809–1817) James Monroe (1817–1825) John Quincy Adams (1825–1829)
 Andrew Jackson (1829–1837) Martin Van Buren (1837–1841) William Henry Harrison (1841)
 John Tyler (1841–1845) James Polk (1845–1849) Zachary Taylor (1849–1850)
 Millard Fillmore (1850–1853) Franklin Pierce (1853–1857) James Buchanan (1857–1861)
 Abraham Lincoln (1861–1865) Andrew Johnson (1865–1869) Ulysses S. Grant (1869–1877)
 Rutherford B. Hayes (1877–1881) James Garfield (1881) Chester Arthur (1881–1885)
 Grover Cleveland (1885–1889) Benjamin Harrison (1889–1893) Grover Cleveland (1893–1897)
 William McKinley (1897–1901) Theodore Roosevelt (1901–1909) William H. Taft (1909–1913)
 Woodrow Wilson (1913–1921) Warren Harding (1921–1923) Calvin Coolidge (1923–1929)
 Herbert Hoover (1929–1933) Franklin D. Roosevelt (1933–1945) Harry S. Truman (1945–1953)
 Dwight Eisenhower (1953–1961) John F. Kennedy (1961–1963) Lyndon Johnson (1963–1969)
 Richard Nixon (1969–1974) Gerald Ford (1974–1977) Jimmy Carter (1977–1981)
 Ronald Reagan (1981–1989) George H. W. Bush (1989–1993) William J. Clinton (1993–2001)
 George W. Bush (2001–2009) Barack Obama (2009–2017) Donald J. Trump (2017–2021)
 Joseph Biden (2021–present)

For more information about the U.S. Presidents: