FDLP Resource Guides: African American Experiences in the United States: Home

GovInfo

GovInfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications

Search U.S. Government Publishing Office’s Catalog of U.S. Government Publications for catalog records. Many records link to the full text.

Open Educational Resources

All FDLP Resource Guides are open educational resources for anyone to share, copy, and reuse.

Overview

This guide contains freely available information from Federal, State, and Local Government resources; libraries; universities; non-partisan organizations; and museums.

History

African American Heritage
U.S. National Park Service
African American Research
National Archives
Before They Were Famous
U.S. Department of Transportation, Maritime Administration
Between Two Worlds: Black Women and the Fight for Voting Rights
U.S. National Park Service
Black Americans in Congress
US House of Representatives: History, Art & Archives
Black History
National Archives Library Information Center
Black History Teaching Resources
Smithsonian Education
Black Women, the Right to Vote and the 19th Amendment
National Public Radio: 1A
The Civil Rights Act of 1964: A Long Struggle for Freedom
Library of Congress
Illinois Freedom Project
Lincoln Home National Historic Site, U.S. National Park Service
The International History of the U.S. Suffrage Movement
U.S. National Park Service

Biography

Carol Moseley Braun
U.S Senate
Carter G. Woodson
U.S. National Park Service
Charlotte Forten Grimké
U.S. National Park Service
Ella Baker
SNCC Digital Gateway
Frederick Douglass
U.S. National Park Service
Hiram Rhodes Revels: First African American Senator
U.S. Census Bureau
Ida B. Wells
U.S. National Park Service
The International Vision of John Willis Menard, First African-American Elected to Congress
Smithsonian Magazine
John Lewis
National Archives
Joseph Hayne Rainey
US House of Representatives: History, Art & Archives
Journeying toward Freedom and New Beginnings: Harriet Tubman
U.S. National Park Service
The Life and Times of Pío Pico, Last Governor of Mexican California
KCET, Public Broadcasting Service
Maggie L. Walker National Historic Site
U.S. National Park Service
Mary Ann Shadd Cary
U.S. National Park Service
Nannie Helen Burroughs
U.S. National Park Service
Oscar Dunn And The New Orleans Monument That Never Happened
WWNO, National Public Radio
Pinckney Benton Stewart Pinchback
National Governors Association
President Barack Obama
The White House
Shirley Anita Chisholm
US House of Representatives: History, Art & Archives

Slavery

The 1619 Project Curriculum
Pulitzer Center
Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936 to 1938
Library of Congress
Community Reading: Frederick Douglass's "What to the Slave is the Fourth of July?"
U.S. National Park Service

Resistance Communities: Marronage and the Underground Railroad

Deep in the Swamps, Archaeologists Are Finding How Fugitive Slaves Kept Their Freedom
Smithsonian Magazine
Maroon Communities in the Americas: Slavery and Remembrance
Colonial Williamsburg
Maroon Society
U.S. National Park Service
Resistance: Slavery In Louisiana
Whitney Plantation
What is the Underground Railroad?
U.S. National Park Service

The Reconstruction Era and the Freedmen's Bureau

The 1873 Colfax Massacre Crippled the Reconstruction Era
Smithsonian Magazine
African American Records: Freedmen's Bureau
National Archives and Records Administration
Civil War and Reconstruction (1850-1877)
National Archives
Freedman's Bank Building
U.S. Department of the Treasury
The Freedmen's Bureau Records
National Museum of African American History and Culture
H.R.5157 - 106th Congress (1999-2000): Freedmen's Bureau Records Preservation Act of 2000
Library of Congress
Reconstruction’s New Order
U.S. House of Representatives: History, Art & Archives
Records of the Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands
National Archives and Records Administration
The Travails of Reconstruction - American Memory Timeline
Library of Congress
U.S. Senate: Freedmen’s Bureau Acts of 1865 and 1866
U.S. Senate Legislation

The Civil Rights Movement in the 20th Century

The Antislavery Movement and Voting Rights
U.S. National Park Service
National Civil Rights Museum
Travel Places of the Civil Rights Movement
U.S. National Park Service