Skip to main content

FDLP Content: Home

Federal depository libraries are required to provide access to all Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) content and catalog or point to the content that is most useful to library patrons. This guide describes that content.

FDLP Content

FDLP content consists of:Official FDLP graphic showing the FDLP eagle logo and "Access U.S. Government information on the go and on the shelf."

CFR pubs on shelving Tangible resources (including print, microfiche, and CD-ROMs) that your library selected through the FDLP and has in the library or at selective housing sites. This includes Special Selection Offers (but does not include FDLP promotional materials).

Official GPO govinfo logoGPO MetaLib logo

Online only publications available in the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP).   These include, among many resources:           :

  • Publications in govinfo                                                                                                                                              
  • GPO MetaLib resources. Linked from the CGP., MetaLib is a federated search engine that searches multiple U.S. Federal Government databases, retrieving reports, articles, and citations and providing direct links to resources available online
  • Links to the FDLP Web Archive. The Web Archive collections are cataloged in the CGP. To see the titles within the collections, access the FDLP Web Archive.
FDLP logo

FDLP Basic Collection, or selected, core U.S. Government publications that are vital sources of information supporting the public's right to know about the working and essential activities of the Federal Government. Every Federal depository library is required to have the titles in the list accessible for immediate use.

GPO official partner logo Official online content partnership resources from library or Federal agency partners who have made online content available for free, public access. Content is available through bibliographic records in the CGP. Some content is also in govinfo.

 

Homeland Security Digital Library graphic "Agency subscription database", currently the Homeland Security Digital Library. Depository libraries have no-fee access to the full database. Each interested library must register for access by either IT authentication or use of a username and password

FDLP Basic Collection

The Basic Collection is available in various ways:

  • On FDLP.gov > Requirements and Guidance > Collections and Databases. This page includes the titles, a description of each title, depository selection information, and information about the FDLP requirement.
  • FDLP Basic Collection: Collection for Librarians LibGuide. This resource includes the same information as the web page. In addition, to facilitate identification of GPO catalog records, it also includes OCLC numbers associated with each title. To support enhanced access to each title, we encourage cataloging of each individual title into your local catalog.
  • FDLP Basic Collection: Core U.S. Government Resources LibGuide. This resource only includes the titles, a description of each title, and background about the FDLP. This is intended for general public access. You may link to this resource from your website, guide, or collection-level catalog record to provide access to all titles in the Basic Collection.
  • FDLP Basic Collection Catalog Search. Available from the two LibGuides above, this yields CGP search results for all FDLP Basic Collection titles.
  • Records representing the online formats are also available on the CGP on GitHub repository.
  • A record for the collection is also available.

At your Federal depository library

Provide access to all FDLP content  and  catalog or point to the content that is most useful to your library's patrons.Official FDLP graphic showing the FDLP eagle logo and "FDLP Federal Depository Library Program"

  • “Depository libraries must provide access to FDLP content.” Legal Requirements and Program Regulations of the Federal Depository Library Program #8
  • The only resources that a Federal depository library must select by item number and catalog are the tangible publications.  
  • Each depository library “develops” an “online collection," a group of online Federal information products that the library determines best meets the Federal Government information needs of the community served. Item selection of these resources may be useful, dependent upon library workflow. The collection is made visible and promoted to the user community through activities such as cataloging or inclusion on library web pages or guides. Reference and other public services are provided for the online resources. Public services and activities to promote visibility are naturally focused on the areas that take advantage of the subject expertise of the library and that best meet the information needs of the community.   
  • The scope of the FDLP includes U.S. Government publications of public interest and with educational value. Not included are publications classified for reasons of national security, issued for strictly administrative or operational purposes, or published as "cooperative' publications" from self-sustaining agencies. 

FDLP LibGuides

Ask GPO

FDLP Official Logo Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP)
732 North Capitol Street, NW • Washington, DC 20401